Wednesday, November 19, 2003
Spam robots from Belize?
Here's a puzzle for you tech-savvy readers: The number of "visitors" to this site from Belize has soared recently — and I don't think it's coincidental that my junk e-mail has, too. How can I learn more about the following hosts?
I could block the IP addresses for these sites, but I don't know what they are. Or do I simply have almost 750 pages of really great reading for the people of Belize? (If you're reading from Belize, drop me a line: I know nothing about your country!)
Copyright © 2003 by Philocrites | Posted 19 November 2003 at 10:28 PM
Previous: Desert island hymns!
Next: Dean: No peacenik?
Advertising



1 comments:
FindAnISP.com:
January 21, 2004 12:36 PM | Permalink for this comment
I started getting these recently - this is a search engine spider for a place called "Gigablast"
http://www.gigablast.com/spider.html
It claims to support the robots.txt standard if you wanted to exclude it. They aren't located in Belize - just like the .cc addresses are not actually located on a tiny island in the pacific ocean that has no telephones, let alone internet access...
Belize used to be known as British Honduras... it has no standing army.... it is a favorite for many retired Americans as the people there speak English instead of Spanish... I gather it is a pleasant place until/unless a hurricane comes through.
Comments for this entry are currently closed.